Before reading this article, you might want to check out: Adding, editing, and deleting users.
As an administrator or support role, you have the ability to add, delete and change users through the Admin Panel on our web application. Deleting a user is a straightforward process, however it is important to be aware of its possible effects on collections.
What happens to a user's collections when they are deleted?
There are two possible scenarios:
1. A collection that was created by the user will be permanently deleted.
2. A collection that was created by a different user and shared with the deleted user will remain intact and have the deleted user removed from its collaborators.
At this time, there is no way to transfer ownership of a collection. Therefore, any collections that the user created will be permanently deleted. However, all cases saved across the firm will always be available through the Firm Library.
What happens to a user's documents when they are deleted?
Any Word document or PDF that was created by the user will remain intact and accessible to others in the firm. For example, a .docx file that was uploaded to your DMS will remain the same as before. However, the implications with the user's collections will still apply. Other users may open the document and view cases in their side panel. However, the cases may only be available in the Firm Library to cite again if it originated from a deleted collection.
Please keep these in mind when deleting a user via the Admin Panel and reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org if you have any questions or concerns.